Capital Punishment: Pathfinder

Federally funded with LSTA funds through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners

This list does not represent all of the information available in the BAA/ Fenway Library. Use the help provided to find more books, websites, articles, and other resources on your topic. 

Don't forget to check the Boston Public Library catalog for materials at Copley or your neighborhood branch. 

 

Please let the library staff know if there are other materials you would like us to add to this pathfinder.

 

 

Background Information

Books

Database Articles

Websites

 Other Resources

Help finding books
Help finding articles in  databases
Help finding and evaluating websites 
Help finding other resources

REF 031 Enc   

Encyclopedia Americana

 

REF 031 World   

World Book Encyclopedia

 

REF 306.087 Enc v.1

Encyclopedia of social issues

 

REF 345.73 Flanders

Capital punishment

 

REF 345.73 Henderson

Capital punishment

 

REF 364.973 Sta

Statistics on crime, justice, and punishment: a selection of statistical charts, graphs, and tables about crime, justice, and punishment from a variety of published sources with explanatory comments

 

364.973 Durham

Crime in America: a reference handbook

 

364.973 Schmalleger

Criminal justice today: an introductory text for the twenty-first century

SIRS Knowledge Source

Subject heading: Capital Punishment

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Gale Infotrac Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Click on Capital Punishment in the Issues list

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

Death Penalty Curricula for High School

 

Death Penalty Information Center

World Book Online

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Laws, Cases, and Sentencing

Books

Database Articles

 Other Resources

REF 347 Gre

Great world trials

 

REF 347.73 Gre

Great American trials

 

342 Corwin

Edward S. Corwin's the Constitution and what it means today

 

342.73 Alderman

In our defense: the Bill of Rights in action

 

342.73 Bartholomew

Summaries of leading cases on the Constitution

 

342.73 May

May it please the court: the most significant oral arguments made before the Supreme Court since 1955

 

342.73 Renstrom

Constitutional law and young adults

 

345.73 Criminal 

Criminal Sentencing

 

345.73 Herda

Furman v. Georgia: the death penalty case

 

345.73 Palmer

The death penalty: an American citizen's guide to understanding state and federal laws

 

347 Great

Great American trials

 

347.73 Schwartz

Decision: how the Supreme Court decides cases

 

364.66 Capital

Capital punishment in the United States: a documentary history

SIRS Knowledge Source

Subject heading: Capital Punishment, Juveniles

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Gale Infotrac Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Click on Capital Punishment; Juvenile Offenders in the Issues list

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Video 342.73 Delicate

Criminal justice from murder to execution

Opinions and Viewpoints - Pro and Con

Books

Database Articles

 Other Resources

364 Crime

Crime

 

364 Criminal

Criminal justice: opposing viewpoints

 

364 Enduring

Enduring issues in criminology: opposing viewpoints

 

364 Tak

Taking sides: clashing views on controversial issues

 

364.3 Regoli

Delinquency in society

 

364.6 Death

The death penalty: opposing viewpoints

 

364.66 Capital

Capital punishment

 

364.66 Death

The death penalty: opposing viewpoints

 

364.66 Jackson

Legal lynching: the death penalty and America's future

 

364.66 Stewart

The death penalty

Gale Infotrac Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Click on Capital Punishment in the Issues list

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Video 364.66 EONetwork

Is the death penalty justified?

Personal Accounts

Books

345.73 Lewis

Gideon's trumpet

 

354.66 Prejean

Dead man walking: an eyewitness account of the death penalty in the United States

Prisons 

Books

Database Articles

365 America

The American prison system

 

365 Kosof

Prison life: the crisis today

SIRS Knowledge Source

Subject heading: Prisons

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Gale Infotrac Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Click on Prisons in the Issues list

Ask or email library staff for log-in information

 

Last updated 06/19/2009